Log in
5.9 million people served. reviewLIFE Network
Select Chevrolet Avalanche Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Pickup
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 2
MPG: 14/18-19 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
5.3L V8 295HP
8.1L V8 325HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 17 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche in the top 47% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Rank:
53%
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche also consider:
2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche
  1. Very comfortable ride
  2. OnStar
  3. Safety
  4. Versatility
  5. Midgate
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche
  1. Power window for midgate
  2. Glove compartment lock
  3. Add tail gate open warning light
  4. More aggressive front grill
  5. Add rear park assist
Submitted Feb 6, 2016
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
The Avalanche is an excellent truck, it's the first truck I've ever personally owned and I think I've made the perfect choice. With its very comfortable and drives incredibly well and easy to maneuver around town, especially for a truck. I don't spend a lot of time hauling stuff so the short box is nice, but what's even nicer is the ability to make it into a long box when I need to, along with having the 3 piece hard top to keep out weather and thieves

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
The biggest complaint I have about the Avalanche is the gas mileage, 13-14 in town and 17 to 18 on the high, but what can you expect? It weighs nearly 6000 pounds and only has a 5.3 liter in it. Another problem I have is a relatively low payload capacity of only about 1400 pounds, although for short trip it shouldn't be too bad to overload this slightly, I've had about 1700 in there before with no noticeable damage.

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
The Avalanche is an excellent vehicle, it's comfortable and has a very nice interior. It has a nice towing capacity and drives amazingly. I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for a useful truck that doesn't always need a long box.


Rate this review:
1
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jan 23, 2015

albion729
Performance:5
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
I love the style and the ride.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
More mpg.

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
Great truck.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 7, 2009

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
the ride and power are great.
all controls are within easy reach.
up keep is fairly easy.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
the gas mileage is terrible. actual mileage v.s. the on board dash readout are not even close. (wish i was getting the readout mileage of 13.5 mpg, not the eleven to twelve actual!!!)

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
overall a great truck, just wish there was something that i could do to increase the fuel mileage that wouldn't break my wallet.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted May 16, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
the ride

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
sunvisor should not block window when lowered as much as it does. I makes rear passengers nervous because it blocks most of the window when visor down. needs rear view camera option. needs more knee room in rear, all the room is lost when a tall front seat passanger moves seat to rear. Drivers seat needs to be able to be raised higher, short trunked people can't get good view because can't raise electric seat high enough. Microphone pickup for onstar phone not sensitive enough and position doesn't pick up well for person with soft voice. Microphone pickup blocked by sun visor when it is UP. Not enough tie down hooks in truck bed. Night light in truck needs to be on both sides. Needs a light under the hood when raised. Needs more torque/power to pull boat out of water.

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
good ride on highway, terrible gas milage


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 23, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
Styling, utility, ride, features.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
gas mileage

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
A great looking truck with very good reliability and the only one that can convert from pickup to SUV. Seating is excellent and the adjustable pedals add to the comfort.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Mar 15, 2008

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
the look i have red. i like the ride it is grate .this is my fist truck thanks chevy/

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
i added my on litte flava.i wish u could see it ladies love it

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
I love my truck HELLOW.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Feb 29, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:4
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
style ride

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
more mpg

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
nice ride, good off road, good on beach, nice tow veh.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 6, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
make a 2500 in 08 so i can get a new one!!!
put the 3.73 gears in the 6 liter towing and 6 speed tran


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 6, 2007

Guest
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?
make a 2500 in 08 so i can get a new one!!!
put the 3.73 gears in the 6 liter towing and 6 speed tran


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Apr 27, 2013
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2013 Chevrolet Avalanche?
It's a shame it's being taken out of production now, especially when it stands alone in the pickup/suv market. It's well built, versatile, and one of the most safe trucks on the market. Not any other vehicle made fits the overall usefulness of this truck.

The ride is as good as you can get in any SUV. Seats 4 to 5 adults with comfort. Has the luxury of an Escalade, and had the unmatched cargo space that is easily transformed from a safe travel vehicle a place to put your luggage out of site locked up out of the weather and away from theft.

Easily converted to a unit that will hall full 4 x 8 sheets of plywood and still not be exposed to the weather. Or in two minutes, remove the top from the bed and haul a refrigerator or bed. At the same time, tow a large trailer like no car/van can do. All the while looking sporty.

Cons: How would you improve your 2013 Chevrolet Avalanche?
One thing I have always wished is for more power with better fuel economy. But don't we always want more for less.

Consider this. Not one vehicle out there provides a complete package for the family, young or old. This one truck may not get 25 miles / gal., but this one vehicle serves the purpose of 3, therefore, not bad when you consider that you will only need this one truck for all of your needs.

2013 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
Though this truck is being discontinued, it is worth your time to consider getting one now. GM had to cut models fell through the cracks. However having put over 300,000 miles of the past two Avalanche trucks I owned. I went to purchase another top of the line model last month while the selection was still available.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews - Read More »
Select Chevrolet Avalanche Model Year - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche? 2005 Chevrolet Avalanche Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Chevrolet Model Lineup:
2005 Avalanche
2005 Aveo
2005 Cobalt
2005 Colorado
2005 Corvette
2005 Equinox
2005 Malibu
2005 Silverado
2005 Silverado HD
2005 SSR
2005 Suburban
2005 Tahoe
2005 TrailBlazer
2005 Uplander
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

©2006-2017 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Chevrolet Avalanche | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Contact