Log in
5.7 million people served. 5,161 users online. reviewLIFE Network
Select Buick LaCrosse Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005

2005 Buick LaCrosse

Vehicle Overview:
Vehicle Type: Fullsize Car
ABS Brakes: Standard
Standard Airbags: 6
MPG: 19-20/27-29 (City/HWY)
Engine Offered:
3.8L V6 200HP
3.6L V6 240HP
Consumer Ratings:
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Ratings Guide:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor
based on 7 ratings
Consumer Verdict:
Not Recommended ?Consumers rated 2005 Buick LaCrosse in the bottom 50% of 2005 model year vehicles.
Make dealers compete for your best price on the 2005 Buick LaCrosse in your area.
Enter Zip Code:
MakeDealersCompete!
Shoppers of the 2005 Buick LaCrosse also consider:
2005 Buick LaCrosse Consumer Car Review Summary
Top 5 Pros of the 2005 Buick LaCrosse
  1. Quiet ride
  2. Handling
  3. V6 3800 engine
  4. Excellent highway MPG
  5. Remote starter
Top 5 Cons of the 2005 Buick LaCrosse
  1. Rear seat leg room
  2. Reliability
  3. Peeling paint
  4. Cup holder location
  5. Smoother transmission
Submitted Dec 19, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Buick LaCrosse?
Very good value for the money.
Roomy trunk.
100,000+ miles zero trouble.
I'd buy it again.

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Buick LaCrosse?
Bland interior.
Noisy exhaust.
The car needs to be jazzed up.

2005 Buick LaCrosse Review:
Overall, I'd recommend this car to anyone.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Oct 30, 2009
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

2005 Buick LaCrosse Review:
This is a good little car. I bought it to be the family vehicle, but we quickly outgrew it with the addition of a third child. I have found the LaCrosse to be a problem free car with simple styling and medium fuel economy. I usually hover around 26 mpg. I love the standard remote start and the handling is what you would expect from a midsize sedan. Bottom line: a quality midsize sedan with no frills. I plan to keep mine for another five years and then give it to the oldest kid.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 16, 2009

Guest
Performance:3
Exterior:3
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Buick LaCrosse?
Just bought a 2005 CX Lacrosse with 12560 miles only. So almost new. I previously owned a 2004 Lesabre that I loved until our son totalled it in an accident, which was not his fault. Have driven a week now and like everything about it. Would like better gas mileage.Seems like my Lesabre was a little more miserly with gas though. THANTHONY, SC

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Buick LaCrosse?
Better fuel economy....


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jun 19, 2008

Guest
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:3
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Buick LaCrosse?
shape style

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Buick LaCrosse?
bigger cabin more cusy seats

2005 Buick LaCrosse Review:
ok


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Jul 24, 2007
Performance:5
Exterior:5
Interior:1
Overall:3
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Buick LaCrosse?
the styling and power performance and the great amenites that came with my buick purchase

Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Buick LaCrosse?
having well qualified dealership mechanics well versed on the car in order to repair any problems that might and do arise

2005 Buick LaCrosse Review:
over all i like the car and bought it when i saw that tiger woods previewed this car as tops for the money..i bought a 2005 buick lacrosse cxs and unfortunately have had it to the dealership 7 times in 1 1/2 yrs to try to get a noisy window fixed as well as a loud squeak in the front dashboard panel,,,the last time i had it in,,the dealership promised it was fixed ,,,,unfortunately,,the noisy rattle in the window is back as well as the squeak in the dashboard..i am a retired gentlement living on a pension and waited quite a while to purchase the right solid vehicle and it didn't happen with this vehicle..i am at wits end to get this car fixed once and for all,,i have less than 12,000 miles on it and it will be 2 yrs as of aug 2007.....i have spoken with the representatives at buicks service dept and the representative there told me,,,THAT THERE ARE SOME "NOISES CHARACTERISTIC' OF A CAR,,,I WILL JUST HAVE TO DEAL WITH IT AND LEARN TO TURN THE RADIO UP LOUD TO DROWN OUT THE NOISES...needless to say,,,this was not the assistance i was hoping for...i like my car but i want the noises taken care of ,,,,IS THAT TOO MUCH TO ASK ,,,ESPECIALLY SINCE I PAID OVER $35000 FOR THE CAR AND CANNOT AFFORD ANOTHER ONE..
if the purchase papers on the cars window indicated "possible noise from window and dashboard'...no one would purchase it...instead ,,,your buick representative said ,,i have no recourse,,,,IS THAT THE ATTITUDE OF BUICK AND GMC?


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Here are some reviews from other model years.
Submitted Dec 19, 2009
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:5
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
Great Interior.
Great styling.
Heads-Up Display.
Much better than expected stereo.
Comfortable leather seats.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
The control to move the seat back to its position (when using easy exit) is in the door handle and doesn't alway work unless you pull the handle really hard.

No bluetooth phonebook, but dealer says there will be a software update to fix that.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
After having my Lacrosse CXS for a week, I still love it. Yes, it has a blind spot, but not too much worse than other cars I have had, and certainly not enough for me to want anything else.

I have a long commute and the seats are comfortable. The hard drive for music is great. The nav is great, but it should have a qwerty keyboard for input instead of alpha order.

It is much more responsive than I expected. People wrote that it doesn't downshift quick enough, but I haven't noticed that, it has plenty of power whenever I need it.

The cooled seats actually work, had them in other cars and they did nothing.

The steering is also much better than I was led to believe. Easy to steer but much less over-powered than the Lexus.

I'm driving it to Vegas (from CA) tomorrow so that will be a good test and I'll get to try out the cruise control for the first time. Any questions from potential buyers, feel free to ask.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Sep 20, 2012
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
Very stylish with a lot of pick up and go.
Comfort and amenities.
Never had a car with HUD but but now I'm not sure I can ever do without it. It is the coolest thing.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
XM/Navigation resets at least 4 times a week. I loose all my XM presets, the clock resets for January 1, 2006 but then recalibrates but is 5 hours fast; I can't erase any of the trips in the Navigation system nor can I add anything to my address book. I get the "we did some tests but couldn't find anything wrong" from the dealer.

Voice recognition system is totally useless...none of the authorized commands seem to be understood.

Blind spot is no joke. I think it is just a matter of time before I pull out in front of someone.

It is easier to open the trunk with the key fob than it is to use the hands free.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
Despite the issues, I still love this car. I'd recommend it to anyone even after 2 years. Hopefully issues are being addressed.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 29, 2011
Performance:4
Exterior:5
Interior:5
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
The car is lovely, super comfortable, and extremely stylish both inside and out. Love the blue lights at night. They simply did a terrific job with the entire look.

We have the biggest engine and most of the add on features. We did buy the nav, and I've not had problems with anything to do with it, other than the interface is clugy. But I love having the rear view mirror. Really encourage if you're on the fence, to get that. I also have the blind spot detection which I love.

However...

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
Three times now, the electronics have "rebooted" meaning the lights flash, and the dials go to zero and back up and the display runs through its start routine, as though you're just starting the car. I didn't lose power as some have noted, but it was in 5 lanes of interstate traffic on all three occasions and freaked me out. Of course the dealer could find nothing wrong - well, ma'am, we've not heard of that before. I also get false indicators where it will tell me something needs to be looked at, but then when I turn the car off and back on, the warning is gone. So, the electronics are flawed.

Second, like others are reporting, there are SERIOUS issues in shifting and acceleration. The person who noted 3 seconds sometimes to shift when trying to accelerate is correct. What's the purpose of the big engine if you can't go when you need to go. We've also experienced a loss of power momentarily when going slow around a corner near our house, so I guess I have had power issues, but it wasn't coincided with the electronics and it didn't die, just sputtered.

I agree the trunk latch is goofy. You slide your hand underneath until you hit the sweet spot to make it open.

Also, the location for the seat memory, is about 2 inches below the seat itself, so when you're getting out, it's easy to hit those buttons which resets the memory.

I can live with the little problems, and I do love the car, but the electronics and mechanics worry me a lot. I've had it less than 2 years and worry what will happen with time.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
Beautiful car with issues.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Nov 6, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
I have to tell the truth, if Ford had not cancelled the Grand Marquis I probably wouldn't have introduced myself to my LaCrosse....but, they did, and I did....and I haven't looked back.

My Buick is great, from its ride, to handling, to comfort, to its get-up-and-go V6, and the 3.0 litre engine, it's pleasing me in many ways....and the RED I chose gets raves.

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
My biggest concern about the car is its blind spots... especially the left front windshield post... don't know why they had to make it so wide... it sits there and makes a great blocker of my view at the most importune times.... same with the other side, I have to turn my head this way and that to avoid possible dangers.

One other complaint..... I have the beginnings of a pain in the left hip, when exiting the car that hard surface the seat is affixed to just grates on my left side. I realize the controls for the seat have to be in such a surface but why not bring the seat over to the edge and give the material some thickness to absorb the driver's weight.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
I rate my Buick high....but then, my last three Grand Marquis's also made me one proud owner. Maybe the Buick will grow on me and Ford can go whistle Dixie before I buy another of their brand.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Submitted Aug 16, 2010
Performance:4
Exterior:4
Interior:4
Overall:4
Guide: 5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Pros: What do you like about your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
I have owned the 2010 Buick LaCrosse CX for three months now and I like the following:
- smooth ride
- XM Satellite Radio
- interior very roomy
- I like the way the steering handles while turning corners.
- Console easy to understand.
- Quiet cabin
- Onstar is great. Gives an update of my vehicle maintenance i.e. tire pressure, oil changes, battery life. The navigation through Onstar is great!

Cons: How would you improve your 2010 Buick LaCrosse?
I would improve this vehicle in the following ways:
- The trunk fixture are of poor quality. It is just hard plastic. When I brought it home the first time the trunk use to lift automatically when I pressed the button on my key. It doesn't do that anymore. Per the Service Department, they said they do not know why it is doing that and will order a part for it. It has been almost two weeks and no parts have come in yet. No follow-up calls from Service Department or nothing. The Service Department need training in customer satisfaction.
- There is a major blind side to this vehicle that I almost had an accident the first time I drove it.
- The black rubber or lining is not adhering on the corner at the bottom of the doors.
- Gas mileage is not that good, just fair.
- No Bluetooth.

2010 Buick LaCrosse Review:
My teenage daughters loves the style of this vehicle and how it drives. So I would say this car does appeal to younger drivers. It looks just like a Lexus. Overall, it is a great car thus far.


Rate this review:
0
0
| Comment »
Displaying 10 Reviews
Select Buick LaCrosse Model Year - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005
Ratings:
Performance:
Exterior:
Interior:
Overall:
5=Perfect; 3=Good; 1=Poor

Do you own the 2005 Buick LaCrosse?

Name:
Email:
We do not share this email address with anyone, and we never spam.
Pros: What do you like about your 2005 Buick LaCrosse? Cons: How would you improve your 2005 Buick LaCrosse? 2005 Buick LaCrosse Review:
After you press Submit, your review will go through two-step screening process:
1) Automated Review and 2) Editor Review.
Published reviews will be distributed to Twitter, Facebook, Google, Yahoo and other web sites.
2005 Buick Model Lineup:
2005 LaCrosse
2005 Rainier
2005 Rendezvous
2005 Terraza
Search for Consumer Reviews
Other Resources
Review Car Dealers: Share your experiences at your local dealer, and help them improve!
Find your dealer by your zip code, and review your local car dealer.
Review Your Car Dealer »
Subscribe to the Latest Reviews Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Google+

If you have questions or comments, please contact us here.

©2006-2014 reviewLIFE Network: ReviewCars | reviewDealership | MakeDealersCompete | reviewPADD | ReviewSales | reviewLIFE

2005 Buick LaCrosse | ReviewCars.com | Privacy | Terms of Use | Advertise